enoa

Young artist don't have it easy today. That's why LOD thinks it's important to create space and resources for these young musicians.

That's why we're part of enoa: the European Network of Opera Academies. The enoa network was born from the wish of a number of operatic institutions – opera academies, festivals, foundations and producers – to work more closely together to support the professional integration of the most talented young artists and to support the development of their artistic ambitions.

With the backing of the European Commission’s Culture Programme since 2011 and Creative Europe programme since 2016, enoa has been working to train emerging artists and promote their mobility, while encouraging the creation and performance of new operas all over Europe.

Thanks to its first five years of experience, the enoa network is renewing its commitment to artists at the start of their professional careers and launching Young Opera Makers starting in May 2016.

In a rapidly changing industry, where the role of creation, the development of new forms, the exploration of innovative creative processes and audience renewal are among the major challenges for opera professionals, the issue of the training and occupational integration of young creators and performers is of crucial importance.

Young Opera Makers programme’s aim is to give them the keys to their occupational integration and international career by offering them excellent training, with an interdisciplinary and contemporary approach to opera, enabling them to perform and experience creative processes, and increase their visibility and access to international recruitment circuits.

Thirteen member institutions, eighteen associated partners, over a thousand young artists and some three hundred professionals make up the enoa community. And off course LOD muziektheater is also part of that community!

 

Opera rocks, thanks to enoa! 

 

"For me, enoa means more encounters. Discussing, sharing opinions, or disagreeing with other composers is extremely inspiring, and often leads to the making of some very concrete plans. Without enoa, I wouldn’t be working on my opera with a director from London right now, and I’d never have met the theremin player for my new ensemble!" – Thomas Smetryns

“I can only wish that what enoa is doing for and with young artists becomes the standard for future networks and initiatives of this kind. … I suspect the future European musical-theatre scene will be flooded with collaboration and projects triggered in one way or another by enoa.” – Vasco Mendonça

"enoa not only broadens young artists’ conceptual framework, but also allows them to gain practical experience in the opera and musical-theatre medium. I wrote my first orchestral work during an enoa workshop with the Gulbenkian Orchestra in Lisbon in 2012, and I even had the chance to write new work for the same orchestra afterwards." – Daan Janssens

 

Second workshop ENOA and LOD

enoa

Les jeunes artistes n'ont pas la vie facile en ce moment ; LOD pense donc qu'il est important de mettre à leur disposition l'espace et les moyens nécessaires pour pouvoir travailler. 

C'est pour cette raison que nous faisons partie du réseau enoa, le « European Network of Opera Academies ». Le réseau enoa est né de la volonté de plusieurs institutions du monde lyrique – académies, festivals, fondations, producteurs d’opéra – de collaborer plus étroitement pour soutenir les jeunes artistes les plus talentueux dans leur insertion professionnelle et dans le développement de leurs ambitions artistiques. 

Avec le soutien du Programme Culture de la Commission européenne, depuis 2011, et d’Europe Créative, depuis 2016, enoa œuvre à la formation et la mobilité d’artistes émergents et encourage la création et la diffusion de nouvelles œuvres opératiques à travers l’Europe.

Fort de ses cinq premières années d’expérience, le réseau enoa renouvelle son engagement auprès des artistes en voie de professionnalisation et lance son nouveau programme Young Opera Makers dès mai 2016.

Dans un secteur en pleine mutation, où la place de la création, le développement de nouvelles formes, l’exploration de processus créatifs innovants et le renouvellement des publics font partie des défis majeurs à relever par les professionnels de l’opéra, la question de la formation et de l’insertion professionnelle des jeunes créateurs et interprètes est cruciale.

Le programme Young Opera Makers ambitionne de donner à ces jeunes artistes les clés de leur insertion professionnelle et du développement international de leur carrière. Il a pour objectif de leur offrir une formation d’excellence, intégrant une approche multidisciplinaire et contemporaine de l’opéra, de leur apporter l’expérience de la scène et des processus de création, de développer leur notoriété et de les insérer dans des circuits de recrutement internationaux. 

Treize institutions membres, dix-huit partenaires associés, plus de mille jeunes artistes et quelque trois cents professionnels forment aujourd’hui la communauté enoa.

 

L'opéra est un art bien vivant, comme l'enoa nous le rappelle à chaque instant !

 

 « Pour moi, l'enoa est synonyme de rencontres. Discuter avec d'autres compositeurs, partager leur avis ou, au contraire, avoir d'autres opinions, m'inspire ; très souvent, ces échanges débouchent sur des projets très concrets. Sans l'enoa je ne serais pas en train de préparer mon opéra en compagnie d'un metteur en scène londonien et je n'aurais jamais rencontré le joueur de thérémin de mon nouvel ensemble ! » – Thomas Smetryns

« L'enoa n'élargit pas seulement le cadre de référence des jeunes artistes, mais leur permet aussi d'acquérir une réelle expérience dans les domaines de l'opéra et du théâtre musical. J'ai ainsi écrit en 2012 ma première œuvre orchestrale dans le cadre d'un atelier de l'enoa avec l'Orchestre Gulbenkian à Lisbonne ; par la suite, j'ai même eu l'occasion d'écrire une nouvelle composition pour ce même orchestre. » – Daan Janssens

« Je ne peux qu'espérer que ce que l'enoa fait actuellement pour les jeunes artistes deviendra le modèle des futurs réseaux et autres initiatives du même type… Je m'attends d'ailleurs à ce qu'à l'avenir, le monde du théâtre musical en Europe sera presque entièrement constitué de telles collaborations au-delà des frontières et d'autres projets lancés de l'une ou l'autre façon par l'enoa. » – Vasco Mendonça

 

Deuxième atelier ENOA et LOD