Moby Dick, at last Queequeg speaks

Gorges Ocloo had for a long time wanted to create a play based on Herman Melville’s literary classic Moby Dick. When, several years ago, he saw a newspaper photo of an 11-year-old girl in her Sunday dress floating lifelessly in the azure-blue water of the Mediterranean Sea, the pieces of the puzzle started to come together. Did this girl, one of the first victims of a sunken refugee boat, know beforehand how dangerous her journey would be? And would the ever silent Queequeg, portrayed as an exotic ‘barbarian’, have boarded the Pequod if he had known in advance that Captain Ahab had a recklessly vengeful mission in mind?

Ocloo contacted the Nigerian writer Ben Okri for the adaptation of Moby Dick. He reworked Melville’s account to create a magic-realist story of the gap between power and powerlessness, high and low, rich and poor. A story set after the ship has sunk. In a poetic and enchanting world inspired by voodoo and animist tales. A place where anything is possible. Where Ahab and Queequeg exchange views for the first time, free from status and ego, free from material things, pure and untrammelled.

On stage we see Josse De Pauw, the celebrated American mezzo-soprano Raehann Bryce-Davis and musician Toon Callier on a composition by Dominique Pauwels. You can expect a jazzy opera, swinging and full of energy, about the need for conciliation in an increasingly polarised society.

It is an evil voyage, I tell thee. If Ahab has his way, neither thee nor me, nor any member of this ship’s company, will ever see home again.
Fri 13 Mar
2020
20:00, deSingel Antwerpen (BE)
Sat 14 Mar
2020
20:00, deSingel Antwerpen (BE)
Sun 15 Mar
2020
15:00, deSingel Antwerpen (BE)
Tue 17 Mar
2020
20:00, LOD Studio, Gent (BE)
Wed 18 Mar
2020
20:00, LOD Studio, Gent (BE)
Thu 19 Mar
2020
20:00, LOD Studio, Gent (BE)
Wed 25 Mar
2020
20:15, C-Mine Genk (BE)
Thu 26 Mar
2020
20:15, C-Mine Genk (BE)
Fri 27 Mar
2020
20:00, CC De Grote Post Oostende (BE)
Thu 2 Apr
2020
20:15, Theater Antigone Kortrijk (BE)
Fri 3 Apr
2020
20:30, Kaaitheater Brussel (BE)
Sat 4 Apr
2020
20:30, Kaaitheater Brussel (BE)
Thu 23 Apr
2020
20:30, CC De Ploter Ternat (BE)
Wed 29 Apr
2020
20:15, ARSENAAL/LAZARUS Mechelen
Thu 30 Apr
2020
20:30, CC Strombeek (BE)

Credits

  • concept & direction Gorges Ocloo
  • composition Dominique Pauwels
  • libretto (adaptation) Ben Okri
  • after the book by Herman Melville
  • with Josse De Pauw
  • mezzo-soprano Raehann Bryce-Davis
  • musician Toon Callier
  • production LOD muziektheater
  • coproduction C-TAKt, deSingel, Vooruit & CC De Grote Post Ostend
  • with the support of the TAX shelter measure by the Belgian Federal gouvernment

Partners

  • http://vooruit.be

Want more?

Other productions in creation