as long as we are playing

‘Play’ occupies a special place in kabinet k’s creative processes. After a good 15 years in which play was the thread running through its creations, this time the company intends to give it the leading role.

As long as we are playing will be a performance like a playground, a reserve for possibilities and interpretations. Play as the basis of the language of movement. Play as an infinite loop, each time in a new form. Play in which the rules manifest themselves in the hands of the people who apply, follow, change, modify, manipulate and ignore them. Play as a place of pleasure and harmony, but also of conflict and power. Play as a mirror of our possibilities, our nature and our coexistence. But also as a statement about the body and about dance.

 

‘There is a sort of country, very small, so small that it somewhat resembles the stage in a theatre. It is inhabited by its people two or three times a day. The inhabitants are small in size. While they live according to the laws, they do not in any case cease to question them, and to struggle violently in this matter. This country is called ‘The Yard’ and its people ‘The Children’. When ‘The Children’ go out into ‘The Yard’, they discover and expe- rience the ‘power of feelings or human servitude’; this is called ‘Playtime’.’
- Claire Simon

 

Concept and choreography by kabinet k, on a composition by Thomas Smetryns.

Fri 1 Nov
2019
HETPALEIS Antwerpen (BE)
Sat 2 Nov
2019
HETPALEIS Antwerpen (BE)
Sun 3 Nov
2019
HETPALEIS Antwerpen (BE)
Tue 5 Nov
2019
HETPALEIS Antwerpen (BE)
Thu 7 Nov
2019
HETPALEIS Antwerpen (BE)
Fri 8 Nov
2019
HETPALEIS Antwerpen (BE)
Sat 9 Nov
2019
HETPALEIS Antwerpen (BE)
Sun 10 Nov
2019
HETPALEIS Antwerpen (BE)
Tue 12 Nov
2019
HETPALEIS Antwerpen (BE)
Sat 16 Nov
2019
LODstudio Gent (BE)
Sun 17 Nov
2019
LODstudio Gent (BE)
Wed 20 Nov
2019
LODstudio Gent (BE)
Sat 23 Nov
2019
LODstudio Gent (BE)
Sun 24 Nov
2019
LODstudio Gent (BE)

Credits

  • CHOREOGRAPHY Joke Laureyns, Kwint Manshoven
  • MUSIC Thomas Smetryns
  • WITH Marieke Berendsen, Nona De Neve, Ilena Deboeverie, Marie-Lou Liberale, Lorenz Ludovic Maes, Kwint Manshoven, Juliette Spildooren, Louise Tanoto, Lili Van Den Bruel, Aya Vanvinckenroye
  • SCENOGRAPHY Amy Franceschini, Kwint Manshoven
  • DRAMATURGY Mieke Versyp
  • PHOTOGRAPHY Kurt Van der Elst
  • PRODUCTION MANAGER Famke Dhont
  • PRODUCTION kabinet k, LOD muziektheater, hetpaleis
  • WITH THE SUPPORT OF the TAX Shelter measure of the Belgian Federal Government

Partners

  • https://www.hetpaleis.be/
  • http://www.kabinetk.be/

Want more?

Other productions in creation