Bosch Beach

Two men and a woman swim and sunbathe on the beach of South-Europe. Ordinary people on holiday, enveloped in the Club Med cocoon. They seduce each other, send postcards with the familiar clichés and drink cocktails till the early hours. Their hangover provides the occasion for a minor existential crisis, but the response is only polonaises and more cocktails.

In Bosch Beach, the libretto, in Dimitri Verhulst’s characteristic style, is moulded for the stage by the LOD composer Vasco Mendonça and the director Kris Verdonck, who is venturing into opera for the first time. To commemorate the 500th anniversary of the death of Hieronymus Bosch, they are taking the notion of hell on earth as their starting point, so as to view our present world through Bosch’s eyes. What does today’s hell look like? Where is today’s ‘False Paradise’, a concealed hell on earth? Sunbathing on the marvellous beach of Lampedusa while refugees are washed ashore; this would seem to come very close.

In Bosch Beach, Verhulst, Verdonck and Mendonça play with the ambiguity of this place and the questions of intolerable guilt it entails. Confrontation with the streams of refugees makes a powerful moral appeal for responsibility. Is our lifestyle only able to continue at the expense of the stability and quality of life of other continents? And if this is the case, can and should we feel responsible as individuals? And what should we do next? We fail to find an answer to these serious problems. This inability is the drama of our time. Alienating elements, three mascots, an inflatable bandstand and searing light puncture the relaxation. In Bosch Beach the false paradise of the resorts and the Bosch-like hell on earth merge seamlessly together.

THE PRESS ON BOSCH BEACH

"Dimitri Verhulst’s foul-mouthed libretto clashes oddly with the sublime vocal lines." – De Standaard

"Heineken, pussies and knockers: in Bosch Beach, Dimitri Verhulst adds some nasty vulgar words to the opera repertoire." – Knack Focus

"‘Dancing on a volcano’: that what it’s called when people ignore the threat from the outside world so as to continue with their comfortable lives undisturbed. It has always been like that, but in Bosch Beach the dilemma is stated once again quite clearly and in a way that makes the performance an extraordinary experience." – Omroep Brabant

"Kris Verdonck’s first opera is pitiless and explicit." – De Standaard

"In musical terms, Bosch Beach is at the very highest level: the Asko/Schönberg Ensemble conducted by Etienne Siebens confirms their reputation as the Netherlands’ leading performers of new music, which here takes the form of Mendonça’s dark, restrained and sometimes plaintive tone. The three actors’ voices are simply marvellous. The extremely clear and slender counter-tenor Rodrigo Ferreira, the soprano Marion Tassou’ soft and calmly sustained lines and Damien Pass’s striking yet still delicate baritone are all superb." - Frankfurter Rundschau

(c) foto's: Kurt Van der Elst

Passed

Credits

  • COMPOSITION Vasco Mendonça
  • LIBRETTO Dimitri Verhulst
  • DIRECTION Kris Verdonck
  • DRAMATURGY Kristof Van Baarle
  • SINGERS Rodrigo Ferreira (contratenor), Damien Pass (baritone), Marion Tassou (soprano)
  • CONDUCTED BY Etienne Siebens
  • ENSEMBLE Asko|Schönberg; Mirjam Teepe (flute, piccolo, alto flute, slide whistle), David Kweksilber (bass clarinet), Erik van Deuren (bass clarinet, contrabass clarinet), Eline Beumer (trumpet, piccolo trumpet, bugle), Frank Braafhart (trumpet, piccolo trumpet, bugle, didgeridoo), Arthur Kerklaan (trumpet, piccolo trumpet, bugle, didgeridoo), Koen Kaptijn (trombone), Joey Marijs (percussion), Jeroen Geevers (percussion), Joseph Puglia (violin), Jan Erik van Regteren Altena (violin), Bernadette Verhagen (violin), Asdis Valdimarsdóttir (viola), Rares Mihailescu (cello), Marcus van den Munckhof (cello), James Oesi (double bass, bass guitar, electric guitar)
  • EXTRAS Simon Van Schuylenbergh, Astrid De Haes, Freek De Craecker
  • IN MEMORY OF Robbe Peeters
  • SCRIBE Wim Hoogewerf
  • CHOREOGRAPHY Marc Iglesias
  • REPETITOR PIANO Lies Colman
  • COSTUMES Eefje Wijnings, Andrea Kränzlin
  • SET DESIGN Kris Verdonck, Eefje Wijnings
  • REALISATION SET A Two Dogs Company
  • LIGHT DESIGN Jan Van Gijsel
  • FRENCH TRANSLATION Danielle Losman
  • TECHNICAL COORDINATION Jan Van Gijsel, Nic Roseeuw
  • TECHNICIANS Diederik Suykens, Jan Van Gijsel, Victor Hidalgo
  • PRODUCTION COORDINATOR Isabel Vermeulen, Kristel Deweerdt
  • PRODUCTION LOD muziektheater
  • COPRODUCTION Jheronimus Bosch 500 Foundation, A Two Dogs Company, Kaaitheater, Teatro Maria Matos, House on Fire, Asko|Schönberg, Concertgebouw Brugge, Fundaçao Calouste Gulbenkian, Theater Mousonturm Frankfurt
  • IN COLLABORATION WITH Klarafestival Brussels, Flanders and the Netherlands Guest of Honour at the 2016 Frankfurter Buchmesse
  • SUPPORT A House on Fire co-production; with the support of the Culture Programme of the European Union & Eduard Van Beinum Stichting

Partners

  • http://www.houseonfire.eu/home/
  • http://www.enoa-community.com
  • https://ec.europa.eu/programmes/creative-europe/

Want more?

Other productions on tour

Bosch Beach

Deux hommes et une femme se prélassent au soleil sur la plage de l'Europe du Sud. Ce sont des vacanciers ordinaires, lovés dans le cocon d'un village de style Club Med. Ils se séduisent mutuellement, envoient des cartes postales rabâchant les clichés habituels et sifflent des cocktails jusque tard dans la nuit. Une gueule de bois est l'occasion d'une modeste crise existentielle, qui se résout par des farandoles et encore plus de cocktails.

Le livret de Bosch Beach, écrit dans le style caractéristique de l'auteur Dimitri Verhulst, est porté sur le plateau par l'un des compositeurs de LOD, Vasco Mendonça, et le metteur en scène Kris Verdonck, dont c'est la première incursion dans le monde lyrique. À l'occasion du 500e anniversaire de la mort de Jérôme Bosch, ils prennent comme point de départ le concept de l'enfer sur terre, afin d'observer le monde actuel à travers les yeux du peintre. À quoi ressemble l'enfer de nos jours ? Quel endroit est actuellement le « Faux Paradis », un paradis caché sur terre ? Se dorer au soleil sur la superbe plage de Lampedusa pendant qu'y échouent des réfugiés semble s'en rapprocher sensiblement.

Dans Bosch Beach, Verhulst, Verdonck & Mendonça jouent sur l'ambiguïté de ce lieu et sur les questions insolubles autour de la culpabilité qui y sont liées. Face à l'afflux de réfugiés, la responsabilité morale est fortement sollicitée. Notre mode de vie n'existe-t-il pas au dépens de la qualité de vie et de la stabilité sur d'autres continents ? Et si oui, pouvons-nous et devons-nous nous en sentir individuellement responsables ? Dans ce cas, comment devrions-nous y réagir ? Nous ne réussissons pas a trouver une réponse à ces problèmes graves. Cette incapacité est le drame de notre époque. Des éléments aliénants, trois mascottes, un kiosque gonflable et une vive lumière lacèrent la sensation de détente. Dans Bosch Beach, le paradis factice des villages de vacances et l'enfer sur terre de Bosch se rejoignent sans faire un pli.

LA PRESSE A PROPOS DE BOSCH BEACH

"Le livret bourré d'obscénités de Dimitri Verhulst offre un contraste étonnant avec les sublimes lignes de chant." – De Standaard

"« Heineken », « chattes » et « nichons » : dans Bosch Beach de LOD, Dimitri Verhulst ajoute des mots bassement populaires au répertoire lyrique." – Knack Focus

"« Danser au-dessus du volcan », voilà comment ça s'appelle quand des gens décident d'ignorer les menaces du monde extérieur afin de poursuivre tranquillement leur petite vie confortable. Ce phénomène est de toutes les époques, mais dans Bosch Beach le dilemme est présenté avec une grande clarté et d'une telle façon que le spectacle en devient une expérience exceptionnelle." – VRT Omroep Brabant

"Le premier opéra de Kris Verdonck est impitoyable et explicite." – De Standaard

"Du point de vue musical, Bosch Beach était du plus haut niveau : l'Ensemble Asko/Schönberg, sous la direction d'Etienne Siebens, a confirmé sa réputation de meilleure formation néerlandaise dans le domaine de la musique nouvelle, en interprétant la composition de Mendonça avec des sonorités retenues, sombres et souvent déchirantes. Les voix des trois interprètes étaient brillantes. L'extrême clarté du contre-ténor élancé Rodrigo Ferreira, le phrasé doux et sereinement étiré de la soprano Marion Tassou et le baryton marquant, conservant néanmoins sa légèreté, de Damien Pass étaient formidables." – Frankfurter Rundschau

(c) foto's: Kurt Van der Elst

Bosch Beach
Bosch Beach
Bosch Beach

Distribution

  • COMPOSITION  Vasco Mendonça
  • LIVRET Dimitri Verhulst
  • MISE-EN-SCÈNE Kris Verdonck
  • DRAMATURGIE Kristof Van Baarle
  • CHANTEURS Rodrigo Ferreira (contratenor), Damien Pass (baritone), Marion Tasso (soprano)
  • SOUS LA DIRECTION DE Etienne Siebens
  • ENSEMBLE Asko|Schönberg; Mirjam Teepe (flûte, piccolo, flûte alto, slide whistle), David Kweksilber (clarinette basse), Erik van Deuren (clarinette basse, clarinette contrebasse), Eline Beumer (trompette, trompette piccolo, bugle), Frank Braafhart (trompette, trompette piccolo, bugle, didgeridoo), Arthur Kerklaan (trompette, trompette piccolo, bugle, didgeridoo), Koen Kaptijn (trombone), Joey Marijs (percussion), Jeroen Geevers (percussion), Joseph Puglia (violon), Jan Erik van Regteren Altena (violon), Bernadette Verhagen (violon), Asdis Valdimarsdóttir (alto), Rares Mihailescu (violoncelle), Marcus van den Munckhof (violoncelle), James Oesi (contrebasse, guitare basse,guitare électrique)
  • FIGURANTS Simon Van Schuylenbergh, Astrid De Haes, Freek De Craecker
  • À LA MÉMOIRE À Robbe Peeters
  • SCRIBE Wim Hoogewerf
  • CHORÉGRAPHIE Marc Iglesias
  • RÉPÉTITEUR PIANO Lies Colman
  • COSTUMES Eefje Wijnings, Andrea Kränzlin
  • DÉCOR Kris Verdonck, Eefje Wijnings
  • RÉALISATION DÉCOR A Two Dogs Company
  • LUMIÈRE Jan Van Gijsel
  • TRADUCTION FRANCAIS Danielle Losman
  • COORDINATION TECHNIQUE Jan Van Gijsel, Nic Roseeuw
  • TECHNIQUE Diederik Suykens, Jan Van Gijsel, Victor Hidalgo
  • DIRECTEUR DE PRODUCTION Isabel Vermeulen, Kristel Deweerdt
  • PRODUCTION LOD muziektheater
  • COPRODUCTION Jheronimus Bosch 500 Foundation, A Two Dogs Company, Kaaitheater, Teatro Maria Matos, House on Fire, , Asko|Schönberg, Concertgebouw Brugge, Fundaçao Calouste Gulbenkian, Theater Mousonturm Frankfurt
  • EN COLLABORATION AVEC Klarafestival Bruxelles, Flandres et Pays-Bas pays d’accueil 2016 Frankfurter Buchmesse
  • SOUTIEN A House on Fire co-production; with the support of the Culture Programme of the European Union  & Eduard Van Beinum Stichting

Partenaires

  • http://www.houseonfire.eu/home/
  • http://www.enoa-community.com
  • https://ec.europa.eu/programmes/creative-europe/

Encore plus?

Autres productions en archives