Ghost Road

An old lady is alone on stage. She is one of the few remaining inhabitants of a town cut off from all human civilisation, a town in the middle of the desert. She is searching for reasons why she lives this lonely life. Has she been left behind by a community that was forced to flee in haste? Or, quite the opposite, has she consciously chosen this abandonment?

The inspiration behind this production is a journey that Fabrice Murgia and Dominique Pauwels took through ghost towns, past dilapidated houses and rusty gas stations in California, Arizona and Nevada. The journey is an initiation, a quest, an exodus... Through it they tell the stories of the men and women who left.

“With Ghost Road, Fabrice Murgia has created for our epoch an ambitious work of art: a requiem for the West and a declaration of faith in something new. (…) Ghost Road is a rare play in which cigarettes are not stubbed out half-smoked, but are fully consumed. There is time. There are gorgeous images and wonderful music. And there is the quiet power of persuasion of De Muynck and Van Quaille.”
De Standaard
Ghost Road
Ghost Road
Ghost Road
Ghost Road
Ghost Road
Ghost Road
Ghost Road
Ghost Road
Ghost Road
Ghost Road
Ghost Road
Ghost Road
Ghost Road
Ghost Road

Credits

  • AUTHOR & DIRECTOR Fabrice Murgia
  • MUSIC & AUDIO INSTALLATION Dominique Pauwels
  • ACTRESS Viviane De Muynck
  • SINGER Jacqueline Van Quaille
  • FILM DIRECTOR Benoît Dervaux
  • LIGHT DESIGN Giacinto Caponio
  • VIDEO Benoît Dervaux & Giacinto Caponio
  • RESEARCH Virginie Demilier
  • PRODUCTION LOD muziektheater & Cie Artara
  • COPRODUCTION Théâtre National Bruxelles, le manège.mons, Theater Antigone, Le Maillon Strasbourg, Hippodrome Douai, Rotterdamse Schouwburg

Partners

  • http://www.artara.be

Want more?

Other productions in archives

Ghost Road

Une vieille dame est seule en scène. Elle est l’une des rares représentantes d’une ville déconnectée de toute civilisation humaine, une ville au milieu du désert. Elle est à la recherche des raisons qui la poussent à vivre cette solitude. A-t-elle été abandonnée par une communauté pressée de fuir ? A-t-elle, au contraire, fait le choix de cet isolement?  

C’est un voyage, dans les villes quasi dépeuplées, au beau milieu des maisons à l’abandon et des stations-service rouillées de la Californie, de l’Arizona et du Nevada, qui inspire Fabrice Murgia et Dominique Pauwels pour cette création. C’est un voyage initiatique, une quête, une fuite... Ils sont les témoins d’histoires d’hommes et de femmes qui sont partis.   

"Avec Ghost Road Fabrice Murgia a réalisé une magnifique œuvre d'art pour cette époque : une messe funèbre pour l'Ouest, un message de foi en quelque chose de neuf. Ghost Road est un étrange spectacle où les cigarettes ne sont pas écrasées à mi-chemin mais fumées jusqu'au bout. Il y a du temps. Il y a des images magnifiques, une musique superbe. Et il y a la puissance de conviction tranquille de De Muynck et Van Quaille"
De Standaard
Ghost Road
Ghost Road
Ghost Road
Ghost Road
Ghost Road
Ghost Road
Ghost Road
Ghost Road
Ghost Road
Ghost Road
Ghost Road
Ghost Road
Ghost Road
Ghost Road

Distribution

  • AUTEUR & METTEUR EN SCÈNE Fabrice Murgia
  • MUSIQUE & INSTALLATION SONORE Dominique Pauwels
  • ACTRICE Viviane De Muynck
  • CHANTEUSE LYRIQUE Jacqueline Van Quaille
  • RÉALISATION DES IMAGES Benoît Dervaux
  • CRÉATION LUMIÈRE Giacinto Caponio
  • CRÉATION VIDÉO Benoît Dervaux & Giacinto Caponio
  • RECHERCHES Virginie Demilier
  • PRODUCTION LOD muziektheater & Cie Artara
  • COPRODUCTION Théâtre National Bruxelles, le manège.mons, Theater Antigone, Le Maillon Strasbourg, Hippodrome Douai, Rotterdamse Schouwburg

Partenaires

  • http://www.artara.be

Encore plus?

Autres productions en archives