The House of Forbidden Music- the return match

There is a lot of vigorous music beneath the surface of every city. Musicians of various types and different backgrounds. In 2000, Dick Van der Harst gathered several of them together and brought their music to the surface in The House of Hidden Music. Their backgrounds were Celtic, jazz, contemporary & early classical, traditional, Galician, Irish, Breton, flamenco, Walloon, Flemish, improvisation etc. Their basic attitude was one of respect and a willingness to work together.

The composer and arranger Dick van der Harst chose genres that suit his nature. He himself is at home with a great many ‘hidden and forbidden’ sorts of music. A familiarity with these numerous genres was the basis on which a number of groups were linked together. So Van der Harst was the specialist technician who made sure of the necessary oxygen, the air-conditioning for this ‘house’. For the 25th anniversary of LOD, he once again went for adventure at full tilt. 15 years after the first House of Hidden Music it will now be followed by the ‘replay’, a little older, a little bolder: The House of Forbidden Music.

Passed

Credits

  • COMPOSITION & MUSICAL DIRECTION Dick van der Harst
  • WITH Massive Central: Kurt Budé (tenor saxophone, clarinet), Wim Konink (percussion), Jean-Philippe Poncin (tenora, clarinet, bass clarinet, chalumeau),  Gilles Repond (trombone), Nic Roseeuw (bass saxophone, German flute), Dick van der Harst (tible, bandoneon, banjo) - String quartet : Liesbeth De Lombaert (viola), Saartje De Muynck (violin), Gudrun Vercampt / Karel Ingelaere (Brosella) / Liana Gourdjia (january – february 2017) (viola), Lode Vercampt (cello) - AND Guy Danel/Yunah Proost (Brosella, TAZ) (cello), Bart Vervaeck (guitar), Wim Segers (percussion), Christian Mendoza (piano), Koenraad Hofman (double bass)
  • SINGERS Amparo Cortés, Lieselot De Wilde/Nora Fischer (Rotterdam, Brosella) and Ialma: Nathalie Codesal, Veronica Codesal, Eva Fernandez, Magali Menendez
  • DANCE Sofia Yero
  • AMANUENSIS Jean-Philippe Poncin
  • PRODUCTION LOD muziektheater
  • SUPPORTED BY Sabam for Culture, De Nationale Loterij, Swing, Yesplan, Caruur, VDK Spaarbank
  • WITH THANKS TO Paola Bartoletti

Partners

Want more?

Other productions on tour

La Maison des Petites Musiques Interdites

Derrière ses façades, une ville abrite une masse de musique vivante, des musiciens de tout poil venus de divers horizons. Dick Van der Harst en avait réuni plusieurs en 2000 et les avait sortis de l'ombre dans La Maison des petites musiques cachées. La musique pratiquée était celtique, jazz, classique ancienne & contemporaine, traditionnelle, galicienne, irlandaise, bretonne, flamenco, wallonne, flamande, improvisée… L'attitude fondamentale était le respect mutuel et la volonté de travailler ensemble.

Le compositeur et arrangeur Dick van der Harst a sélectionné des genres qui lui conviennent. Il se sent à l'aise dans nombre de « petites musiques cachées et interdites ». Sa connaissance de ces nombreux genres a servi de point de départ pour réunir un certain nombre d'ensembles. Dick Van der Harst est donc le « plombier-soudeur » de service. C'est lui qui a fait entrer l'oxygène, les flots d'air nécessaires dans cette « Maison ». Tout spécialement pour le 25e anniversaire de LOD muziektheater, il s'est lancé à fond dans une nouvelle aventure musicale. Quinze ans après la première « Maison des petites musiques cachées », voici à présent « la revanche » – un peu plus adulte, un peu plus osée –, « La Maison des petites musiques interdites ».

La Maison des Petites Musiques Interdites
La Maison des Petites Musiques Interdites

Distribution

  • COMPOSITION & CHEF D'ORCHESTRE Dick van der Harst
  • AVEC Massive Central: Kurt Budé (saxophone tenor, clarinette), Wim Konink (percussion), Jean-Philippe Poncin (tenora, clarinette, clarinette basse, chalumeau), Gilles Repond (trombone), Nic Roseeuw (saxophone basse, flûte traversière), Dick van der Harst (tible, bandoneon, banjo) - Quattor à cordes: Liesbeth De Lombaert (violon alto), Saartje De Muynck (violon), Gudrun Vercampt / Karel Ingelaere (Brosella) / Liana Gourdjia (janvier - février 2017) (violon), Lode Vercampt (violoncelle) - ET Guy Danel/Yunah Proost (Brosella, TAZ) (violoncelle), Bart Vervaeck (guitare), Wim Segers (percussion), Christian Mendoza (piano), Koenraad Hofman (contrebassiste)
  • CHANT Amparo Cortés, Lieselot De Wilde/Nora Fischer (Rotterdam, Brosella) et  Ialma: Nathalie Codesal, Veronica Codesal, Eva Fernandez, Magali Menendez
  • CHANT Sofia Yero
  • PRODUCTION LOD muziektheater 
  • AVEC LE SOUTIEN DE Sabam for Culture, De Nationale Loterij, Swing, Yesplan, Caruur, VDK Spaarbank
  • MERCI À Paola Bartoletti

Partenaires

Encore plus?

Autres productions en archives