In between violet and green

‘Somewhere between violet and green, that’s where the colour lies that connects everything, there, somewhere in infinity, between the tints of air and water.’ Claude Monet, from a letter to Paul Cézanne, c. 1869.

On stage we see an architect and a photographer. He is busy with his self-designed models, she takes photographs and projects them. The audience witnesses both the craftsmanlike way the image comes into being and the result that this yields. As technicians of the imagination, Steve Salembier and Charlotte Bouckaert of Atelier Bildraum tinker with their world before the audience’s eyes. A world that gradually takes shape to the music of Thomas Smetryns, played by Jakob Ampe and Benjamin Dousselaere.

The starting point is Monet’s garden in Giverny and Les Nymphéas, the series of paintings that go with it. As the founding father of Impressionism, Monet was the first to break away from the salons and deliberately take his easel out into the natural surroundings. For Salembier and Bouckaert it is above all the interweaving of painting and gardening that is their source of inspiration. Monet did after all prove that image and space, garden and landscape, are inseparably linked and susceptible to manipulation.

It is the garden and the landscape that are the main characters in In between violet and green. The garden is that appropriated piece of the world into which we can withdraw in seclusion and which we can transform into a personal idyll on the basis of our own dreams and desires. In this way it tells something about who we are and how we view the world. The performance involves a look at the way all the gardens form a landscape and how in the end everyone helps define the world he lives in.

We might have stood if we hadn’t been knocked back in our seats by the sheer beauty of it all. A metaphysical magic show for grown-ups. Serious play. Made with compassion and love. Snap it up.
Fringe Review/Roy Hutchins
Thu 19 Oct
2017
20:00, LODstudio Gent (BE)
Fri 20 Oct
2017
20:00, LODstudio Gent (BE)
Thu 2 Nov
2017
21:30, Staatsschauspiel Dresden (DE)
Fri 3 Nov
2017
20:15, Staatsschauspiel Dresden (DE)
Sat 17 Mar
2018
20:00, CC Het Gasthuis Aarschot (BE)

Passed

Credits

  • CONCEPT, DIRECTION & SCENOGRAPHY Atelier Bildraum (Steve Salembier & Charlotte Bouckaert)
  • COMPOSITION Thomas Smetryns
  • DRAMATURGY Piet Arfeuille, Vladimir Miller
  • WITH Steve Salembier & Charlotte Bouckaert
  • MUSICIANS Jakob Ampe, Benjamin Dousselaere, Thomas Smetryns
  • ADVICE COSTUMES Lieve Pynoo
  • ADVICE LIGHT Rik Teunis
  • TECHNICIANS Pino Etz, Christoph Donse, Rik Teunis, Peter Quasters, Jannes Dierynck
  • PRODUCTION MANAGER Isabel Vermeulen, Jo Mackie
  • PRODUCTION LOD muziektheater, Atelier Bildraum, Theater Malpertuis, De Munt
  • WITH THANKS TO Camille Bourgeus, Philip Janssens
  • WITH THE SUPPORT OF De Ververij Ronse, De Spil Roeselare, Kunstenwerkplaats Pianofabriek

Partners

  • http://opera21.be/tagged/inbetween

Want more?

Other productions on tour

In between violet and green

Quelque part entre le violet et le vert se situe la couleur qui unit tout, là-bas, dans l'infini, entre nuances aériennes et aquatiques. - Claude Monet, lettre à Paul Cézanne, vers 1869

Sur le plateau se tiennent un architecte et une photographe. Il manipule les maquettes qu'il a créées, elle photographie et projette les images. Le public est à la fois témoin de la réalisation artisanale de l'image et du résultat produit. En tant que techniciens de l'imaginaire, Steve Salembier et Charlotte Bouckaert d'Atelier Bildraum bricolent leur univers personnel sous le regard du public. Cet univers se révèle progressivement sur les sonorités du compositeur Thomas Smetryns et des musiciens Jakob Ampe et Benjamin Dousselaere.

Le concept de base est le jardin de Monet à Giverny et la série de tableaux Les Nymphéas qui le représente. Pionnier de l'Impressionnisme, Monet fut le premier à s'échapper des salons pour aller planter délibérément son chevalet en pleine nature. Pour Salembier et Bouckaert, la source d'inspiration principale est le mariage de la peinture et du jardinage. Car Monet a amplement prouvé que l'image et l'espace, le jardin et le paysage, sont indissociablement liés et malléables.

Le jardin et le paysage sont donc les protagonistes du spectacle In between violet and green. Le jardin est une parcelle de terrain qui a été appropriée ; nous pouvons nous y retirer en toute intimité et, à partir de nos propres rêves et aspirations, la transformer en idylle personnelle. Le jardin nous en dit long sur qui nous sommes et sur le regard que nous posons sur le monde. Le spectacle examine comment la somme de tous les jardins compose le paysage et comment chacun contribue à déterminer l'univers dans lequel il vit.

Nous nous serions mis debout si nous n'avions pas été vissés à nos sièges, soufflés par tant de beauté. Un spectacle métaphysique magique pour adultes. Une pièce sérieuse, créée avec compassion et amour. Précipitez-vous.
Fringe Review/Roy Hutchins

Terminé

Distribution

  • CONCEPTION, MISE EN SCÈNE & SCENOGRAPHIE Atelier Bildraum (Steve Salembier & Charlotte Bouckaert)
  • COMPOSITION Thomas Smetryns
  • CONSEIL DRAMATURGIQUE Piet Arfeuille, Vladimir Miller
  • AVEC Steve Salembier & Charlotte Bouckaert
  • MUSICIENS Jakob Ampe, Benjamin Dousselaere, Thomas Smetryns
  • CONSEIL COSTUMES Lieve Pynoo
  • CONSEIL LUMIÈRE Rik Teunis
  • TECHNIQUE Pino Etz, Christoph Donse, Rik Teunis, Peter Quasters, Jannes Dierynck
  • DELEGUEE DE PRODUCTION Isabel Vermeulen, Jo Mackie, Rozemarijn van Kalmthout
  • PRODUCTION LOD muziektheater, Atelier Bildraum, Theater Malpertuis, De Munt
  • MERCI À Camille Bourgeus, Philip Janssens
  • AVEC LE SOUTIEN DE De Ververij Renaix, De Spil Roulers, Kunstenwerkplaats Pianofabriek

Partenaires

  • http://opera21.be/tagged/inbetween

Encore plus?

Autres productions en tournée