Vanish Beach

An outing to Venice Beach in California, 1942. Sitting on the beach in stiff three-piece suits, their trousers rolled up. Ill at ease, a little too hot, a little too European, slumped down in their American deckchairs. Great European cultural figures fleeing Nazism. Including Thomas Mann, Alma Mahler and Arnold Schoenberg – the inventor of atonal music, himself a great fan of Bach and Brahms. Their conversation on Goethe’s influence on Wagner falters for a moment as they watch in silence as a Mickey Mouse balloon flies over the beach. In the meantime they are consumed with homesickness for a country that wanted to destroy them.

Vanish Beach is about homesickness and exile, about the importance of memories – imaginary or otherwise – if that is all that is left of your home country. Aboriginals who go on a journey crouch under a tree for a while just before they arrive so that their souls have time to catch them up. But what if your soul never has time to keep up with your body? Where is comfort to be found then?

In Vanish Beach, the depth and weight of the European past chafes against the superficiality and transience of American consumerism. What existential consolation did they find, and is it still possible to find it in that increasingly mythical home country that is Europe?

Passed

Credits

  • CONCEPT Wannes Gyselinck
  • TEXT & CREATION Wannes Gyselinck & Ans Van den Eede
  • INSIDE EYE Louise Van den Eede
  • WITH Marjan De Schutter, Filip Jordens, Greg Timmermans, Ans Van den Eede
  • COMPOSITION & LIVE MUSIC Hendrik Lasure
  • CHOIR Octopus conducted by Bart Van Reyn (only in Ghent, Brussels and Mechelen)
  • FINAL COACHING Willem de Wolf
  • TECHNICIAN Bart Mommerency
  • COSTUMES Ann Weckx
  • PRODUCTION MANAGER Laura Arens (internship)
  • INTERNSHIP CREATION Carine Van Bruggen
  • PRODUCTION Hof van Eede
  • COPRODUCTION LOD muziektheater, Klarafestival
  • IN COLLABORATION WITH CAMPO
  • WITH THE SUPPORT OF De Vlaamse Overheid, het Vlaams Fonds voor de Letteren, Stad Gent & Provincie Oost-Vlaanderen

Want more?

Other productions on tour

Vanish Beach

Une excursion à Venice Beach, Californie, en 1942. Ils sont assis sur la plage en complets-vestons guindés à gilet, le pantalon retroussé. Légèrement empruntés, de guingois dans leur transat américain, ils ont un peu trop chaud, ils sont un peu trop européens. De grandes figures de la culture européenne ayant fui le nazisme. Parmi eux, Thomas Mann, Alma Mahler et Arnold Schönberg – concepteur de la musique atonale, grand amateur de Bach et de Brahms. Leur conversation sur l'influence de Goethe dans l'œuvre de Wagner est suspendue un instant, tandis qu'ils observent un ballon Mickey Mouse flottant au-dessus de la plage. Pendant ce temps-là, ils sont rongés par la nostalgie de la patrie qui a voulu les anéantir. 

Vanish Beach parle du mal du pays et de l'exil, de l'importance des souvenirs – fictifs ou non – si ceux-ci sont tout ce qui reste du pays natal. Quand les aborigènes d'Australie partent en voyage, ils s'accroupissent sous un arbre juste avant d'arriver à destination, afin que leur âme ait le temps de les rattraper. Mais que se passe-t-il si votre âme ne parvient jamais à vous rejoindre, où trouver la consolation alors ?

Vanish Beach met en lumière les frictions entre, d'une part, la profondeur et le poids du passé européen et, d'autre part, la superficialité et la fugacité du consumérisme américain. Quelle consolation existentielle ont-il pu trouver – et laquelle reste-t-il à trouver actuellement – dans la patrie de plus en plus mythique qu'est l'Europe ?

Jeu 24 Jan
2019
20:30, CC De Ploter Ternat (BE)
Ven 25 Jan
2019
20:00, LODstudio Gent (BE)
Sam 26 Jan
2019
20:30, CC Palethe Overpelt (BE)
Jeu 31 Jan
2019
20:00, CC Belgica Dendermonde (BE)
Sam 2 Fév
2019
20:30, CC De Warandepoort Tervuren (BE)
Jeu 7 Fév
2019
20:30, Cultuurcentrum Diest (BE)
Sam 16 Fév
2019
20:00, CC de Abdij Geraardsbergen (BE)
Jeu 21 Fév
2019
20:00, CC Zwaneberg Heist op den Berg (BE)
Ven 22 Fév
2019
20:00, CC Scharpoord Knokke-Heist (BE)
Sam 23 Fév
2019
20:15, CC De Kern Wilrijk (BE)
Jeu 28 Fév
2019
20:30, CC Den Blank Overijse (BE)
Ven 1 Mar
2019
20:00, CC Brasschaat (BE)

Terminé

Distribution

  • CONCEPTION Wannes Gyselinck
  • TEXTE & CRÉATION Wannes Gyselinck & Ans van den Eede
  • INSIDE EYE Louise Van den Eede
  • AVEC Marjan De Schutter, Filip Jordens, Greg Timmermans, Ans Van den Eede
  • COMPOSITION & MUSIQUE LIVE Hendrik Lasure
  • CHOEUR Octopus sous la direction de Bart Van Reyn (seulement à Gand, Bruxelles et Malines)
  • COACH FIN Willem de Wolf
  • PHOTO Michiel Hendryckx
  • TECHNIQUE Bart Mommerency
  • COSTUMES Ann Weckx
  • DIRECTEUR DE PRODUCTION Laura Arens (stage)
  • STAGE CREATION Carine Van Bruggen
  • PRODUCTION Hof van Eede
  • COPRODUCTION LOD muziektheater, Klarafestival
  • EN COLLABORATION AVEC CAMPO
  • AVEC LE SOUTIEN DE De Vlaamse Overheid, het Vlaams Fonds voor de Letteren, Stad Gent & Provincie Oost-Vlaanderen

Encore plus?

Autres productions en tournée