Kurt Van der Elst
Wed 8 Jan - Thu 9 Jan

The Heroes

LOD / Josse De Pauw, Dominique Pauwels
8 Jan
-
9 Jan
The Heroes is a monologue that Josse De Pauw wrote to raise questions about heroism and its present meaning. Dominique Pauwels composed the music, based on voices and concrete sounds.
 

Is a human capable of giving his life? For his land, for his lover, for his beliefs? Can heroes really exist or are they just an indispensable part of uplifting stories? And if they have existed, was the thing they gave their life for worth dying for? And if they still exist, what would they now give their life for? And do heroes themselves know they are heroes?

The Heroes is a monologue that Josse De Pauw wrote to raise questions about heroism and its present meaning. The historian Sophie De Schaepdrijver assists him in his quest for a contemporary definition. Dominique Pauwels composed the music, based on voices and concrete sounds. What would the head sound like, of the person speaking here? Not everything is fixed in a score, and the text is in direct contact with the sounds and music. By having the technician Brecht Beuselinck work live on stage, Josse De Pauw wants to build on the polyphony of heroism each night.

A monologue about heroism and its present meaning

A man, a photo of his child, a flag of his country, a book, worn by reading, by a great thinker who inspired him, the speech by a great leader, the hundred and seventy-five commandments of an ancient god… Broken-down props of a human life. Everything has its own story, everything has its own voice, an individuality. That’s how this man’s head sounds. The man himself: he expresses his doubts.

Credits

direction, text, performance Josse De Pauw composition & installation Dominique Pauwels lixe remix Brecht Beuselinck light & set design Eric Soyer costume design Greta Goiris research Sophie De Schaepdrijver music (recording) SPECTRA: Pieter Jansen (violin), Liesbet Jansen (violin), Bram Bossier (viola), Vincent Hepp (viola), Peter Devos (cello) programmation & piano (recording) Dominique Pauwels singing (recording) Maria Portela Larisch voice girl nl (recording) Cecile Verwee voice girl fr (recording) Eva Rose Thys costume assistant Claudine Grinwis Plaat Stultjes concept & production bug Logos Foundation technical coordination Brecht Beuselinck technicians Jannes Dierynck, Brecht Beuselinck production manager Kristel Deweerdt bookings Frans Brood Productions photo Kurt Van der Elst video Pascal Poissonnier, Jan Bosteels translation Monique Nagielkopf production LOD muziektheater and KVS coproduction Le Manège Maubeuge, La Rose des Vents Villeneuve d’Ascq, Théâtre de Namur with thanks to Bart Maris, Wim Piqueur, David Messeman, DADA Studios

Kurt Van der Elst
mer. 8 janv. - jeu. 9 janv.

Les Héros

LOD / Josse De Pauw, Dominique Pauwels
8 janv.
-
9 janv.
Pour Les Héros, Josse De Pauw écrit un monologue dans lequel il s'interroge sur l'héroïsme et son sens actuel. Dominique Pauwels compose la musique en partant de voix et de sonorités concrètes.
 

Un être humain est-il capable de faire don de sa vie ? Pour son pays, pour l'être cher, pour ses convictions ? Les héros peuvent-ils réellement exister ou ne sont-ils rien de plus qu'un élément indispensable du récit d'origine ? Et s'ils ont existé, est-ce que la raison pour laquelle ils ont sacrifié leur vie le valait-elle vraiment ? Et s'ils existent toujours, pour quoi exactement donnent-ils leur vie ? Les héros savent-ils eux-mêmes qu'ils sont des héros ?

Pour Les Héros, Josse De Pauw écrit un monologue dans lequel il s'interroge sur l'héroïsme et son sens actuel. L'historienne Sophie De Schaepdrijver l'épaule dans sa recherche d'une définition contemporaine. Dominique Pauwels compose la musique en partant de voix et de sonorités concrètes. Comment sonnerait l'esprit de celui qui a la parole ici ? Tout n'est pas fixé dans la partition, le texte évolue au contact direct des sons et de la musique. En collaboration avec l'ingénieur du son Brecht Beuselinck, également présent en scène, Josse De Pauw veut contribuer chaque soir à construire la polyphonie de l'héroïsme.

Un monologue sur l'héroïsme et son sens actuel

Une partie de:
Dominique Pauwels

Un homme, une photo de son enfant, un drapeau de son pays, un livre écrit par un éminent penseur qui l'inspirait, usé par les lectures répétées, le discours d'un grand dirigeant, les 175 commandements d'un dieu ancien… Les piliers délabrés d'une existence humaine. Tout possède son propre récit, tout possède sa propre voix, sa spécificité. C'est ainsi que résonne l'esprit d'un homme. L'homme lui-même exprime ses doutes.

 

Crédits

mise en scène, texte, avec Josse De Pauw composition & installation Dominique Pauwels live remix Brecht Beuselinck lumière & décor Eric Soyer costumes Greta Goiris rechercheSophie De Schaepdrijver musique (enregistrement) SPECTRA : Pieter Jansen (violon), Liesbet Jansen (violon), Bram Bossier (violon alto), Vincent Hepp (violon alto), Peter Devos (violoncelle) programmation & piano (enregistrement) Dominique Pauwels chant (enregistrement) Maria Portela Larisch voix fille nl (enregistrement) Cecile Verwee voix fille fr (enregistrement) Eva Rose Thys assistante costumes Claudine Grinwis Plaat Stultjes dessin & production bug Stichting Logos coordination technique Brecht Beuselinck techniqueJannes Dierynck, Brecht Beuselinck déléguée de production Kristel Deweerdt diffusion Frans Brood Productions photo Kurt Van der Elst vidéo Pascal Poissonnier, Jan Bosteels traduction française Monique Nagielkopf production LOD muziektheater et KVS coproduction Le Manège Maubeuge, La Rose des Vents Villeneuve d’Ascq, Théâtre de Namur merci à Bart Maris, Wim Piqueur, David Messeman, DADA Studio