Gorges Ocloo
Fri 13 Mar - Thu 23 Apr
At last Queequeg speaks

Moby Dick, At last Queequeg speaks

LOD / Gorges Ocloo, Dominique Pauwels & Ben Okri
13 Mar
-
23 Apr

A jazzy opera about power, status and the need for reconciliation in our society.

Gorges Ocloo had for a long time wanted to create a play based on Herman Melville’s literary classic Moby Dick. When, several years ago, he saw a newspaper photo of an 11-year-old girl in her Sunday dress floating lifelessly in the azure-blue water of the Mediterranean Sea, the pieces of the puzzle started to come together. Did this girl, one of the first victims of a sunken refugee boat, know beforehand how dangerous her journey would be? And would the ever silent Queequeg, portrayed as an exotic ‘barbarian’, have boarded the Pequod if he had known in advance that Captain Ahab had a recklessly vengeful mission in mind?

Ocloo contacted the Nigerian writer Ben Okri for the adaptation of Moby Dick. He reworked Melville’s account to create a magic-realist story of the gap between power and powerlessness, high and low, rich and poor. A story set after the ship has sunk. In a poetic and enchanting world inspired by voodoo and animist tales. A place where anything is possible. Where Ahab and Queequeg exchange views for the first time, free from status and ego, free from material things, pure and untrammelled.

On stage we see Josse De Pauw, mezzo-soprano Nobulumko Mngxekeza-Nziramasanga and musician Toon Callier on a composition by Dominique Pauwels. You can expect a jazzy opera, swinging and full of energy, about the need for conciliation in an increasingly polarised society.

 In the frame of 10x10, in collaboration with Vooruit, Ghent

Author Ben Okri by (c) Mat Bray

'It is an evil voyage, I tell thee. If Ahab has his way, neither thee nor me, nor any member of this ship’s company, will ever see home again.'

Herman Melville, 'Moby Dick'

Credits

concept & direction Gorges Ocloo composition Dominique Pauwels in collaboration with Toon Callier after the book by the same name by Herman Melville text Ben Okri adaptation Gorges Ocloo & Bart Capelle with Josse De Pauw soprano Nobulumko Mngxekeza-Nziramasanga musical execution Toon Callier repetitor Jan Debel scenography Giovani Vanhoenacker light Jannes Dierynck sound Brecht Beuselinck technics Johannes Ringoot, Lukas Vanhoutte (intern) costumes Freya Proost production manager Kristel Deweerdt production LOD muziektheater coproduction C-TAKT Pelt/Genk, deSingel Antwerpen, CC De Grote Post Oostende, Kunstencentrum Vooruit Gent with the support of the TAX Shelter measure by the Belgian Federal Gouvernment tax shelter partner Flanders Tax Shelter

Gorges Ocloo
ven. 13 mars - jeu. 23 avril
At last Queequeg speaks

Moby Dick, At last Queequeg speaks

LOD / Gorges Ocloo, Dominique Pauwels & Ben Okri
13 mars
-
23 avril

Un opéra jazzy sur le pouvoir, le statut et le besoin de réconciliation dans notre société

Depuis un moment déjà, Gorges Ocloo voulait créer un spectacle d'après un grand classique de la littérature, Moby Dick de Herman Melville. Lorsqu'il a vu, il y a quelques années, la photo d'une petite fille de 11 ans, vêtue de sa robe du dimanche, flottant sans vie dans l'eau bleu azur de la Méditerranée, les pièces du puzzle ont commencé à se mettre en place. Cette fillette, l'une des premières victimes du naufrage d'un navire de réfugiés, savait-elle avant son départ combien son voyage serait périlleux ? Et l'éternellement silencieux Queequeg, présenté comme le « barbare » exotique, aurait-il embarqué à bord du Pequod s'il avait su à l'avance que le capitaine Achab envisageait une mission de vengeance inconsidérée ?

Pour l'adaptation de Moby Dick, Ocloo s'est adressé à l'auteur nigérien Ben Okri, qui a tiré du texte de Melville un récit magico-réaliste sur l'écart entre le pouvoir et l'impuissance, le haut et le bas, la richesse et la pauvreté. L'histoire se déroule après que le navire ait sombré, dans un univers poétique et enchanté, inspiré du vaudou et des récits animistes, un lieu où tout est possible. Où, pour la toute première fois, Achab et Queequeg dialoguent sans se préoccuper du statut social, de l'ego, du côté matériel, en toute pureté et sans artifices.

En scène sont réunis Josse De Pauw, mezzo soprano Nobulumko Mngxekeza-Nziramasanga et musicien Toon Callier, sur un composition de Dominique Pauwels. Attendez-vous à un opéra jazzy, swinguant et énergique, sur le besoin de rapprochement dans une société toujours plus polarisée.

 Dans le cadre de 10x10, en collaboration avec Vooruit, Gand

Auteur Ben Okri (c) Mat Bray

'C'est un mauvais voyage, je vous dis. Si Achab obtient ce qu'il veut, ni vous ni moi, ni aucun membre de l'équipage de ce navire ne reverra son foyer.'

Herman Melville, 'Moby Dick'

Crédits

conception & mise en scène Gorges Ocloo composition Dominique Pauwels en collaboration avec Toon Callier d'après le roman éponyme de Herman Melville texte Ben Okri adaptation Gorges Ocloo & Bart Capelle avec Josse De Pauw soprano Nobulumko Mngxekeza-Nziramasanga musicien Toon Callier repetiteur Jan Debel scénographie Giovani Vanhoenacker lumière Jannes Dierynck son Brecht Beuselinck technique Johannes Ringoot, Lukas Vanhoutte (stage) costumière Freya Proost production LOD muziektheater coproduction C-TAKT Pelt/Genk, deSingel Anvers, CC De Grote Post Ostende, Kunstencentrum Vooruit Gand avec le soutien de la mesure TAX shelter du gouvernement fédéral belge tax shelter partner Flanders Tax Shelter